Medicare Part D

Medicare Part D is the prescription drug plan that provides coverage for your prescription drugs. You can typically enroll in a standalone Part D plan once you’re enrolled in Medicare Part A and/or Part B. Or, you can obtain prescription drug coverage through a Medicare Advantage (Part C) plan that provides it as an additional benefit.

What Coverage is Included With Part D?

Each plan is required to cover two drugs from each class. They are also required to cover all drugs in six specific categories, which are:






HIV/AIDS drugs


Part D will not cover:

Cosmetic drugs

Fertility or erectile dysfunction medications

Weight loss or weight gain drugs

Over-the-counter drugs

Have Questions? We Can Help

By filling out this form you agree to be contacted with the Phone Number provided, and to receive automated Opt-In Messages. If at anytime you wish to unsubscribe, reply STOP to end, or HELP for help. Simply reply YES to be able to communicate with your agent through SMS text messaging.

What are Part D Tiers?

Part D plans will typically do what they can to try and lower costs. In order to do this, they will place the covered drugs into different tiers. Any drug that is listed in a lower tier will generally cost less than a drug in a higher tier.

Here is an example of what plan’s tiers may look like:

  • Tier 1 – Has the lowest copayment and usually consists of generic prescriptions
  • Tier 2 – Has a medium copayment with preferred, brand-name prescriptions
  • Tier 3 – Has a high copayment with non-preferred, brand-name prescriptions
  • Specialty Tier – Has the highest copayment with high-cost prescriptions

Learn More About Part D

If you are in need of prescription drug coverage, you should consider joining a Part D plan. Our team of experts will compare your Part D plan options to ensure that you will have the drug coverage you need.